I have arrived!


After waiting for many weeks I have finally arrived in Nottingham. It has not been a particularly stress-free ride I’ll admit but it has been interesting at least.
After stressing out on results day I was very happy that I was accepted onto my course without the required grades (I put this down to sheer awesomeness). In the last few weeks alone I have run into countless problems, most of which have been resolved. Just a week before I was due to leave for uni I managed to lose my only pair of glasses and had to employ 7 other people to help me find them. In the end it turned out they were exactly where I thought they would be but one of my friends is extremely unobservant.

I don’t really have much to say about university life yet as I haven’t actually started my course but I can say one thing: I feel so out-of-place and awkward. The three of my five flat-mates that I have met have turned out to be male. I am praying that the other two are girls! I will not be a happy bunny if I am the only girl… There is no way I am making any of the guys a sandwich. I also feel a bit lost. I like to pretend that I am a sophisticated young adult with plenty of life experience but in reality I am a lonely 18-year-old who hasn’t been out of Sussex for more than a week at a time. I am in a city that I have visited twice with people I don’t know. Oh well, that’s part of university life and I am not the only person in this situation. I have to man up and get confident. I’ve made friends before, I can do it again… Can’t I?

Leave a comment