New year, new you and all that jazz


We are now 21 days into the new year and I have not made any resolutions. I have decided not to make any this year. The idea that you should make resolutions for the new year has always struck me as slightly odd. I mean, if you want to change something about your  life, why wait until the new year to do something about it? Every year, I make the same resolutions: lose weight, be more confident, get organised etc. And every year, I fail to stick to them. This year I decided to really think about what I want. There must be a reason that I don’t stick to my resolutions. Here are the reasons I came up with:

Lose weight– Yes I am a bit chubby. My thighs could probably do with a bit of toning up and my wobbly bum is a source of constant annoyance to me but when I think about my weight and how I look I realise that I am not that fat. I have curves, yes, but who says that is a bad thing? I could probably do with more exercise but I’m not going to beat myself up over not having a ‘perfect’ body.

Be more confident– Oh social situations… How I shy away from them. In an ideal world I would be a confident, funny, outgoing person who was hugely popular and successful. In reality, I am fairly shy, have no way of gauging how funny I am and I’m quite an introverted person. I would much rather spend time on my own in the evenings that going out to get drunk with a big group of people. Again, I don’t necessarily think my personality is a bad thing. When I get to know people, I am incredibly comfortable around them and tend to become very good friends with them. I don’t think having a massive group of friends I hardly know is going to benefit my life in any way at all. I would rather have a small group of close friends who I stay in contact with for the long run.

Get organised– I’m not even going to go there. I fail at this every year. Well, I fail at this every term, but let’s not go into that.

And… I’m out of ideas. I would make a resolution to write more posts for the blog, but it’s not going to happen. I just don’t know what to write about most of the time. Sorry to anybody who is really upset by that. You will just have to cry yourself to sleep tonight.

Happy new year to any who are reading this x

P.s. You don’t have to cry yourself to sleep. That was a joke

Leave a Reply

