Letters to myself #1.


Dear Charlotte of.. hang on a moment… err.. 5 years ago,

It is not often I write letters to myself, for obvious reasons, but I thought I would have a crack at writing a letter thinking about how things turned out.

The one thing I would say to myself is that things will get better. As bad as things seem at the moment, there are not many things that can make it worse. I know you probably know this, but school is of vital importance. Your grades were not the best they could be and there is going to be a certain level of disappointment about them but really, there is nothing to be ashamed of. They were not bad at all. They are enough to get you into college and eventually university. Cadets is probably the single most useful thing that you have done as although the grades for university were not quite what they needed to be, it was undoubtedly cadets that got you (me?) onto the course you wanted to be on.

Going back to the whole ‘things can only get better’ thing. I know, I know.. it is really hard to believe, but it is true. If I am taking it as myself being 14 exactly, it will be another year and a bit before you finally leave home, but it will be the best move you ever make, even if it doesn’t feel like it. Things start off very stressful. I remember the awful first few days when I left and things were so unsure. I had no idea where I was going to live long term and that was one of the most stressful feelings in the world, dealing with GCSE’s alongside that. I know there are people who have had it worse than we did but at the time it was hard to think of how other people dealt with things.

Life will show you that there are genuinely good people out there. Yes, there are also really really horrible people. You know that as well as anybody but life will eventually show you that not all people are like that. I would say try to open yourself up to people but I know better than anybody that that is easier said than done.

Hmm… I find myself with little else to say but I am glad to be able to say that we are doing what we wanted to do. I know I have wanted to do law for a long time and I am where I want to be now… or at least on the path I need to be on to get where I want to be in the future.

It was a very short letter but there are few other things I can think of to write to my past self. This felt awkward and stunted and I may avoid doing this too much.. I don’t like it.

Anywho… to end a very awkward letter to myself.

Bye now…

Well, to anybody reading this… sorry for how short this is. I will be writing a letter for myself in 20 years if I remember. It is not normally my style to do things like this but the idea seemed like a good one so I decided to join in. My writing about my past is normally awkward because I dislike explaining it if I can avoid it.

Things I would have told myself to do if I could:

  • Try to be more confident. If you just make yourself less socially awkward, you would have made more friends and school might have been that tiniest bit easier. School was undoubtedly one of the good things in my life but there were times it was hard. It is probably an understatement to say I wasn’t the best at human interaction… still have my issues to this date.
  • I would have told myself to get more out of college. There were so many opportunities I probably missed out on because of laziness or some other reason. Consistently, I have neglected to do things I probably should have done.
  • Errrrrrrrrrrrrrrr…. err.. err… stuff.. moist… I dunno…
Leave a Reply

