Challenge #4: Hand write a letter to someone you speak to often.


This was not the challenge I originally planned to do this week but it is getting too close to being the end of the week and I needed to find a challenge that I could do without leaving the house. I was browsing the internet for ideas for challenges and this one struck me. I knew exactly who I wanted to write to. I think sometimes it is easy to maybe not appreciate someone as much as you should and this challenge was a good chance for me to very briefly show one of my closest friends that while I may be a bit sarcastic and (for lack of a better word) bitchy some of the time, particularly when sleep deprived (which is always), I do genuinely appreciate her and I want our friendship to last, no matter what way our lives take us. I decided to write to one of my housemates. It is obviously not because I can save on postage then. Totally not…

In hindsight, writing the letter lying on the floor with a textbook under the piece of paper was probably not the best way to approach this challenge. I am looking at the letter right now and it looks like a child has grabbed a pen and scrawled across the paper in what looks like half-formed letters. I am exaggerating slightly, but my handwriting is normally neat so this untidy letter is just awful for me to look at but my hand hurts and I don’t think I am willing to risk permanent injury to re-write this heartfelt letter. The scrawly letters add some charm… Maybe. I probably should have used a pen that wasn’t running out of ink, too. It would have helped.

I don’t think there is really much else for me to write about this. Hanna… If you hear me outside your room, it is because I am about to post the letter under your door. Also, once you read the letter and if you read this… I am sorry if the letter is creepy. I don’t think I can help myself.

I should have written the letter on Winnie the Pooh paper… I don’t know why I still have it. I think I have had the writing set since about the age of 9. I can’t just throw it away though. Anybody want a letter on Winnie the Pooh paper?

2 thoughts on “Challenge #4: Hand write a letter to someone you speak to often.

  1. I used to write letters to certain friends all the time but I fell out of the habit, which is a huge shame. My sister still does it though, almost weekly with 2/3 different friends. It’s a good idea, you have inspired me to take it up again! Hope your friend didn’t find it too creepy 🙂

    1. I think the scratching under her door at one in the morning was probably far creepier than the letter itself. It’s fine.. That will overshadow anything slightly creepy in the letter.

      I think I am the same as you actually. I remember writing to one friend all the time as a child but it has been a long time since I actually wrote a letter to a friend for no apparent reason. I am glad I have inspired you to take it up again ^_^ Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.

Leave a Reply

