The End of a Chapter.


I have been confined to the kitchen floor to write this post. I have been in the process of thinking about writing this post for almost a week now. As I may have mentioned before, I have spent the last 12 months (well, 15 months after my contract was extended) working for a law firm. My degree included a sandwich year and I am now in the process of preparing for my final year. This last week has seen me leave the firm (following a few tears and tantrums) and move into my new flat in Nottingham.

This last year has been quite the experience. I did not enjoy my first 6 months on placement as much as I should have as I didn’t feel like I gained very much from it, but the second half was markedly better. I was moved into a part of the business that actually dealt with claims. My first few weeks in that team were spent helping the other handlers but I ended up with a full case load by the end of my placement. Throughout my placement I have met some of the funniest people I know. I have also met some of the most ridiculous people I know, but I won’t linger on that point for too long. The year has been quite the experience and I am eternally grateful I have had the opportunity. It is also nice to know there is every chance I will be able to just walk straight back into a job after university. It somewhat removes the stress of knowing what to do with my life in 10 months time.

My news of the moment is definitely moving into the new flat, though. I have been moved in since Saturday and am maybe half way unpacked now. All the important items like my laptop and games are all unpacked. All my miscellaneous items are shoved in corners to deal with tomorrow. And tomorrow never comes. I am slightly worried by how easily I have slipped back into the student life of doing nothing for all hours of the day. I have slept more in the last four days than I have over the last year. As with every other year, tensions have already started to mount. There are barely concealed insults, elbows appear, there is swearing and shouting… All in the name of Mario. I evidently don’t play well as part of a team when it comes to Mario and this has caused quite the problem when trying to play. Fern gets over it. We stop playing for a bit, maybe out of frustration, leave it for a day and then go back the next day as if we are going to work well together the next time. It doesn’t happen.

Aside from the Super Mario tensions, the week has run smoothly. We have had a few little niggles, but we have powered on through. Aside from the fact there are many MANY holes in the wall (like someone has run through with a hammer and just punched holes through for giggles), the fact things keep falling out of the walls and the fact someone may have murdered someone on one of the couches and covered it with a throw to disguise this, the flat is lovely. It is large. Everything feels large to me since my flat last year was the size of a shoebox.

Today has been quite the dramatic day considering we have only left the house to go shopping. Asda is down the hill from our flat. This is not a problem when going to the shop. The problems arise when trying to trek back up the hill. It got to the point we had taken three stops in about a hundred feet because things were so heavy. It even got to the point that a suggestion was made to steal a wheelie bin as shopping transportation. We nearly had Grand Theft Auto: The Wheelie Bin Edition. The redeeming feature of this was that the Asda does sell Pop Tarts and chocolate pretzels. Next time I will just buy them and not a whole shopping load of other things. The main purpose of this shop was to buy baking ingredients and today has seen our first baking drama. It isn’t quite the ‘bincident’ from Great British Bake Off, but I still had Fern banging on my door screeching “It’s a shortbread emergency!” (I am taking creative liberties with her phrasing, but in my mind that is 100% what she said.) This was then followed by caramel drama and a few burns caused by taste testing. Fern now realises just how much of a genius I am when I made her a divider for her caramel out of mugs and cardboard. She is going to keep me around. I have already proven my worth.

I had plenty more to say about the placement year and moving in, but after the Great Hill Trek of 1pm, I don’t have it in me to write anything else. I need a nap. I didn’t wake up until 11. I could get used to this. I don’t think I am ready for university yet. I don’t think I will ever be ready for university.

I will finish this off by providing a picture of the new house mascot. Meet the dragonborn minion. He lingers with all the belongings I have shoved onto the mantlepiece. Fern lets me keep things there because it all looks good. She likes the Skyrim map.

Leave a Reply

