You’re worse than the devil


When I woke up this morning, I knew it was just going to be one of those days. The fact it was 6am and the cats were crying and scratching incessantly at the door just set it off on the path it continued on.

Ignoring the fact the cats woke me up two hours earlier than I would willingly be out of bed and an hour before my first alarm, the getting ready for work part of my day was uneventful and fairly samey.

It was getting the bus which started the truly horrific part of the day. Now, I don’t think I am an unreasonable person, nor am I particularly prone to irrational anger, but I am firmly of the opinion that people who play music or videos out loud on their phone or any other electronic device on public transport in rush hour are worse than the devil. There is never a reason for it. You want to keep your kids entertained and quiet on the bus? Give them headphones. You want to listen to your modern dubstep music that I don’t really understand out loud on the bus? Headphones. You want to have your news update podcast? You guessed it: headphones.

Now, as I stepped onto the bus, I could already hear that someone was playing something out loud but as I got up the stairs, I was confronted with Ace Ventura being played on someone’s phone for their child very loudly. Now, I don’t have anything against Ace Ventura being watched, but I do have an issue with hearing it when I am barely sentient first thing in the morning.

And, I will admit, I’ve been fairly fortunate recently in that I rarely encounter people playing things out loud on the bus but the universe was clearly telling me I have been getting too lightly lately… Because someone else on the way home, with their child, was playing something on their phone, out loud.

Hey, who knows, it might have been the same person.

And they might have been watching Ace Ventura.

Small world.

Leave a Reply

